A Birthday in Lockdown — Saturday 13th February

Tavian Jean-Pierre
2 min readFeb 14, 2021

Originally published at https://tavian.blog

Photo by cottonbro

It was my birthday today, and I was able to spend much of the day relaxing. Saturday is my rest day anyway, but it felt a bit more special with all the calls and messages from others.

I received a new notepad which is always a treat. It helps me track my ideas and allows me to create. Not to mention, writing my journal every day.

The Best Birthday I have Had

As I reflect, I realise that it was one of the best birthdays I have had. I turned 21 today, so it probably would have been spent partying with friends. However, I was able to take time out and be grateful for my years of life.

I was able to spend much time in my thoughts and reflect on my life so far. I realised how privileged I was to see my 21st birthday. To have people around me who care, and also to have all the opportunities I do.

So, I think having a birthday in lockdown has allowed me to appreciate my years of life more. I will probably be adding a time of solitude and personal reflection on each birthday from now on.

The Worst Birthday I have Had

However, in another sense, it is one of the worst birthdays I have ever had. No one was there to…

--

--

Tavian Jean-Pierre

Founder of the Better Conversations Podcast | Inspiring a better future | Producing insights on leadership, innovation, economics and entrepreneurship